Skip to main content
Version: 10.6

Managing User Groups

This section describes NavVis IVION's permissions model and how to manage user groups.

The management of user groups in NavVis IVION happens on the instance level.

Global admins can add, edit and delete user groups for all sites in an instance. Site admins can add, edit and delete user groups for their site(s) only.

Groups Tab

You can find the Groups tab under User Management > Groups on your instance dashboard.

In the Groups tab you can:

  • See a list of user groups for each site in the instance.

  • Add new user groups.
  • Edit existing user groups.

  • Delete user groups.

Permissions Model

Permissions in NavVis IVION are managed using groups. Rather than assigning permissions to each user, users are added to one or more groups, and permissions are granted based on a user's group membership.

Groups

NavVis IVION's group system is hierarchical. That is, a group can have multiple subgroups, which in turn can have subgroups, and so on.

Users can be assigned to multiple groups. They have to be added manually to each group and/or subgroup.

NavVis IVION comes with a predefined list of groups, which you can edit via User Management > Groups.

Each group has a name and a set of permissions applied to it. The permissions control what kind of content members of the group can create, view and publish. You can edit the permissions of a group via User Management > Groups.

Users can only see groups they are a member of.

Global Admin

Global admins have access to all sites, site content and functions in an instance.

By default, every instance has a global admin account. The first user to log into NavVis IVION automatically becomes a global admin.

Members of the global admin group can add further users to this group.

Site Admin

Site admins have full access to their sites' content. A user can be a site admin of multiple sites.

Everyone

All users added to NavVis IVION are automatically part of the everyone group. This applies to registered users with individual sign-in credentials as well as guest users, who do not have their own sign-in credentials.

Guest Users

Users that are added to NavVis IVION, are not automatically added to a group apart from the everyone group. They are considered guest users and their permissions are limited to viewing, navigating and searching within NavVis IVION. By default, these users do not have creation or editing permissions. To give users additional permissions add them to an existing group or create a new group with the appropriate permissions.

Note: Users that are not added to a group, will not count against applicable user licenses. However, users will count against applicable user licenses, once they become part of a group.

Adding User Groups

Follow these steps to add user groups:
  1. Go to User Management > Groups.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to add a group.
  3. Select an existing user group by clicking on its name. The new group will be added as a sub-group of the group you have selected.
  4. Click the + button.
  5. Enter a name for the group.
  6. Confirm by clicking the check mark button.
  7. Click Save.
  8. Assign permissions to the group. To do that:
    1. Expand the group's drop-down menu on the right side of your screen.
    2. Check the check boxes next to the permissions you want to apply to the group.
  9. Click Save.

Editing User Groups

Follow these steps to edit user groups:
  1. Go to User Management > Groups.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to edit a user group.
  3. To edit the name of a group:
    1. Select the group by clicking on its name.
    2. Click the pencil button.
    3. Change the group name.
    4. Click the check mark button.
    5. Click Save.
  4. To edit the permissions of a group:
    1. Open the group's drop-down menu on the right side of your screen.
    2. Add permissions for the group by checking additional check boxes.
    3. Remove permissions from the group by unchecking check boxes.
    4. Click Save.

Deleting User Groups

Follow these steps to delete user groups:
Important: Deleting a user group will also delete all its sub-groups.
  1. Go to User Management > Groups.
  2. From the drop-down menu, select the site for which you want to delete a group.
  3. Select the group you want to delete by clicking on its name.
  4. Click the bin button.
  5. Confirm by clicking Save.